Sunday, March 1, 2009


DJ Vybz Kartel cemented his place in the annals of dancehall music history with a successful night at the inaugural HYPE TV awards during which he took home four awards, including the first award of the night, Best Collaboration, for the song Weh Dem A Go featuring Jah Vinchi.

Kartel collected a treasure trove of awards, including Male Deejay of the year, song of the year for Trailer Load A Money, and Artiste of The Year. Portmore Empire top lieutenant Black Ryno walked away with the New Artiste of the Year award while Lisa Hype used the opportunity as a way to shamelessly market herself. In the absence of Vybz Kartel, she accepted two award, using the latter opportunity to declare ‘it sticky pon dem’ and to big up the Portmore Empire before launching into her own song, Hustle for Ever on the Remand riddim. Kartel later turned to perform his latest hit, My Mama, before being joined by Blak Ryno performed well. Lisa Hype also did Hustle for Ever. Kartel accepted the Song of the Year award graciously thanking Yohann Dawes and HYPE TV for the event.

"Awards like this that recognise the work of artistes show us that we have an industry. Kudos to Mr Dawes and HYPE TV," he said.

RDX underlined their dominance as the ascendant male group by winning Best Group and comedian Pretty Boy Floyd accepted the award on their behalf. Queen Ifrica locked the Female Deejay of the year award.

D’Angel and Prodigal Son delivered a great performance of their new song, Cyan Get We Out, which is a gospel-tinged celebration of perseverance with a telling line ‘tired fi see wi face, that ah the punchline’. Barbee was soulful and sweet as she sang her number one hit, Love You Anyway. Artistes such as Chino, Stevie Face, the UWI Dance Troupe, Ravers Clavers, Global Bob and Mystic also did well on the HYPE TV stage.

The recent friction between Global Bob and Mystic that was the subject of Internet blogs and websites was mentioned by hostess DJ Flamze after the two had performed back to back.

“Mystic, I take it you and Global Bob are fine, no tiff, no tete a tete?” she quipped.

Mystic later won the Best Dancer award thanking all her fans on Facebook, and her publicist Ray Alexander for his support with her career. Etana grabbed the Best Female Singer award, while Tarrus Riley won the male equivalent.

Mavado won the Singjay of the year award, while Stephen McGregor won the Producer of the Year.Video Editor of the Year went to crowd favourite I Am The Kritik who held up an Edit or Die sign while he mugged for the cameras.

Jay Will took the opportunity to implore investors to invest in the film industry while accepting his Video Director of the Year award, Busy Signal copped Best Dancehall Video while the Best Reggae video award went to Shaggy’s Bad Man Don't Cry. Notably, Shaggy also collected the HYPE TV Civic Award, for his work done with the Bustamante Hospital for Children.

The event was marked by a few embarrassing hiccups but all in all was a creditable performance for the inaugural event. Singer Aisha Davis sang the National Anthem. Among the distinguished guests Minister of Entertainment Olivia ‘Babsy’ Grange, former minister of finance, Dr Omar Davies, and former prime minister, the Hon Edward Seaga, who became the first inductee into the Hype TV Hall of Fame. Several artistes turned up to strut the red carpet and hail the work of their peers. They included Sophia Brown, Cecile, Ishawna, Beenie Man, and Bridgez.

Source: Reggae MusicFM

No comments: